Understanding & Setting Up Protection Levels

Understanding & Setting Up Protection Levels

Canopy Shield gives you full control over how different types of online content are filtered on each protected device.

You can now choose between four protection levels for each content category—giving you more flexibility and control than ever before.

🔒 What Are the Protection Levels?

Each content category can be assigned one of the following levels:

🔵 Unfiltered

  • No filtering applied to the content in this category.

  • Use this option only for content you fully trust.

🟢 Filtered 

  • Applies standard protection to content in the category.

  • Filters explicit material while allowing general use.

🟡 Enhanced

  • Applies stricter filtering to content in the selected category.

  • Helps protect against borderline or more subtle harmful content.

  • Redirects apps to filtered browser versions where necessary for better control:

    • On Android, the app is hidden and a shortcut app appears in its place.

    • On iPhone/iPad, a web version appears with a  ✅ mark indicating it's protected and filtered via Safari.

🔴 Blocked

  • Completely blocks access to the category across all apps and browsers.


📂 By Category Protection

Some apps automatically receive their protection level based on the category they belong to.

These apps will follow their category’s protection level by default.
👉 If you prefer not to apply the category’s filtering, you can only adjust them to either Unfiltered or Blocked.

🛠️ How to Set Protection Levels

You can now assign a specific protection level to each content category using the Enhanced Protection Setup:

Step-by-Step:

  1. Open the Canopy Dashboard on your computer or log into the Canopy App for management.

  2. Select the device profile you wish to setup protection levels for.

  3. Select Content Filtering.

  4. The Categories tab will open.

  5. For each category, choose your preferred protection level:

    • Unfiltered

    • Filtered

    • Enhanced

    • Blocked

  6. Your changes are saved automatically and will take effect shortly.